Setup will not run

Get help with TorrentRover problems or crashes.
Dirkmaster
10+ Posts
10+ Posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:40 pm
Sex: Male

Setup will not run

Post by Dirkmaster » Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:02 am

Dirkmaster
V 1.1.22 freshly downloaded
Windows10 64b

When I try to run the installation/setup program, I get the following error message:

"This advertised application will not be installed because it might be unsafe. Contact your administrator to change the installation user interface option of the package to basic"

I AM the administrator, and I've never heard of a installation user interface option.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated.

Dirkmaster

User avatar
John
Owner
Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:56 am
Sex: Male
Location: Warsaw, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setup will not run

Post by John » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:47 pm

I have never heard of that either.

Do you have an anti-virus program that may be blocking the installation?

Perhaps you could try right clicking and choose "Run as Administrator"?
A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street. - Doug Linder

TorrentRover exists on donations... Please donate!
TorrentRover on Facebook
TorrentRover on Twitter
TorrentRover on YouTube

Dirkmaster
10+ Posts
10+ Posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:40 pm
Sex: Male

Re: Setup will not run

Post by Dirkmaster » Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:38 pm

I have tried running as administrator, with the same effect. My antivirus is MalwareBytes Premium, and I have disabled it as well.

User avatar
John
Owner
Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:56 am
Sex: Male
Location: Warsaw, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setup will not run

Post by John » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:53 am

Can you include a full screen screenshot of the message you see. Make it full screen so I can see if there's anything that might be causing this issues running in your system tray. McAfee and AVG and notorious for blocking the wrong things.

What version of Windows are you running?

If you are on Vista or older, do you have .NET Framework 3.5 installed?
A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street. - Doug Linder

TorrentRover exists on donations... Please donate!
TorrentRover on Facebook
TorrentRover on Twitter
TorrentRover on YouTube

Dirkmaster
10+ Posts
10+ Posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:40 pm
Sex: Male

Re: Setup will not run

Post by Dirkmaster » Mon Jul 31, 2017 9:12 am

Running Windows 10, 64bit, latest update but no betas.

I have a LOT running in the background, but this issue has never come up until the I uninstalled the old version to install the latest.

Will update this post with an image once I get home from work.

dirkmaster

User avatar
John
Owner
Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:56 am
Sex: Male
Location: Warsaw, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setup will not run

Post by John » Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:48 am

Please post the screenshot... but I had one other idea. I have seen where an uninstallation didn't finish completely and it caused problems similar to this. If you uninstalled, you may want to make sure to delete "C:\Program Files (x86)\TorrentRover" and "%localappdata%\TorrentRover" folders. Then try and install again.

If you had an active Subscription, you may need to go through Tools -> Manage Subscription -> Recover Subscription.
A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street. - Doug Linder

TorrentRover exists on donations... Please donate!
TorrentRover on Facebook
TorrentRover on Twitter
TorrentRover on YouTube

Dirkmaster
10+ Posts
10+ Posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:40 pm
Sex: Male

Re: Setup will not run

Post by Dirkmaster » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:23 pm

Sorry for the huge size and three screens. The screen you can about is the center one.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (690.43 KiB) Viewed 3043 times

User avatar
John
Owner
Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:56 am
Sex: Male
Location: Warsaw, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setup will not run

Post by John » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:50 am

I found this online...

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/781 ... because-it

There are a couple suggestions. One is to just move the installer closer to the root folder and run it again.

The accepted solution is to run from command line with certain arguments, but no one has ever had this problem before, so I assume it's something specific to your environment (computer).
A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street. - Doug Linder

TorrentRover exists on donations... Please donate!
TorrentRover on Facebook
TorrentRover on Twitter
TorrentRover on YouTube

Dirkmaster
10+ Posts
10+ Posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:40 pm
Sex: Male

Re: Setup will not run

Post by Dirkmaster » Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:04 pm

Okay, so I checked and neither of the two directories you mention were present.

The install program is only one level deep from the root, so I don't think that's it.

The command line option won't work, as that command appears to only work on .msi installers, not .exe. At least it didn't run for me, even from an Administrator CMD.

Did the image help you at all?

Dirkmaster

User avatar
John
Owner
Owner
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:56 am
Sex: Male
Location: Warsaw, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setup will not run

Post by John » Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:24 pm

Honestly, the image was hard to read, but I was able to see the text. That's about all I could gather though.

You say you don't have either of those two folders? Is this your first time installing TorrentRover?
A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street. - Doug Linder

TorrentRover exists on donations... Please donate!
TorrentRover on Facebook
TorrentRover on Twitter
TorrentRover on YouTube

Post Reply