Page 1 of 1

torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:49 pm
by dansmail26
When I doubleclick torrentrover (v.23 beta) it doesn't show up (Windows 7) as a gui screen. I checked in task manager and it is running as a process. It did work when I ran it last week.
Thanks!

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:05 pm
by John
I'm sorry you're having trouble. I'll try to help you out.

1. Create a shortcut to TorrentRover.exe.
2. Right click on the shortcut and go to properties.
3. Change the Target to this (add the " -d" at the end):

"C:\Program Files (x86)\TorrentRover\TorrentRover.exe" -d
TorrentRover shortcut.png
TorrentRover shortcut properties
TorrentRover shortcut.png (37.19 KiB) Viewed 7333 times
4. Click OK to save the changes.
5. Run the shortcut.

Do you see this?
UI doesn't open.png
UI doesn't open
UI doesn't open.png (21.51 KiB) Viewed 7333 times

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:42 am
by dansmail26
Funny, but I added the id and it worked fine, but the message box never came up. I then also ran it from the original icon, and it worked fine too. Confusing! The computer was not restarted or updated or anything.

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:42 am
by John
You added the -d argument after the file name and you never saw the message? That's weird. You definitely should have seem the message if you added that to the shortcut target and then ran from the shortcut.

You can also add " --debug" (without the quotes) and get the same result.

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:33 am
by dansmail26
I just tried again - ""C:\Program Files (x86)\TorrentRover\" -d" no message box but tr started fine.
Then I changed it to -debug (one dash) with the same results.

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:49 am
by John
Huh. That's strange.

The line should look like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\TorrentRover\TorrentRover.exe" -d

or this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\TorrentRover\TorrentRover.exe" --debug

2 dashes on that one...

You only need quotes around the path part, not the -d or --debug part. I'm glad it's working for you. I'm kinda curious why you aren't seeing the message box though. Anyways, I'm glad you're up and running again.

Re: torrentrover not starting up

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:02 am
by dansmail26
Thats funny, in Win 7 if you create a shortcut from an existing icon, then go in to properties and change the shortcut (add the -d) it automatically puts quotes around the entire command, I can't figure out anyway to not have them.

So I did create a new shortcut by pasting in the correct command line. That worked, and the message box did appear.